The Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday announced its candidates for 82 more seats for the Karnataka Assembly elections. The party has fielded mining baron G Janardhan Reddy’s brother Somashekar Reddy from Bellary city. He will be up against Congress candidate Anil H Lad.

G Janardhan Reddy is an an accused in an illegal mining case.

The second list was released a day after the party’s central election committee met in New Delhi to finalise the candidates’ names for the May 12 elections. The list also includes Krishnaiah Setty, an associate of state unit president BS Yeddyurappa, who will contest from Malur.

The party has announced its nominees for 154 of the 224 constituencies. On April 8, it announced the candidatures of its state unit president BS Yeddyurappa, Lok Sabha MP B Sriramulu and veteran leaders Jagadish Shettar and KS Eswarappa.

The party is yet announce its candidate for Varuna, where the Congress has fielded Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s son Yatheendra, PTI reported.

On Sunday, the Congress released a list of 218 candidates and said it will announce candidates for five seats later and will support an ally in one seat. Several party workers who were unhappy with the list vandalised party offices on Monday. Violent protests were reported from at least a dozen constituencies including Mandya, Mangaluru, Bengaluru Ruraland Chikmagalur. Some leaders also threatened to resign from the party, The Times of India reported.