Assembly elections

Karnataka: BJP leader Yeddyurappa to take oath as CM today after SC refuses to stay swearing in

The Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) moved the top court against the oath-taking ceremony after the governor invited the BJP to form government.

Bharatiya Janata Party leader BS Yeddyurappa will take oath as Karnataka chief minister at 9 am on Thursday after the Supreme Court refused a petition blocking the ceremony.

The Congress and Janata Dal (Secular) moved the Supreme Court registrar for an urgent hearing on Wednesday night, after Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala invited the BJP to form government. Vala granted Yeddyurappa 15 days to prove his majority on the floor of the house.

In the early hours of Thursday, the top court refused to stay the ceremony. However, it ordered the attorney general to furnish the letter in which Yeddyurappa told the governor that he had the numbers for a majority in the Karnataka house.

The Supreme Court said the matter would be taken up on Friday morning. Yeddyurappa’s swearing-in ceremony would still be subject to the final outcome in the legal matter, it added. A bench of three Supreme Court judges – Justices AK Sikri, A Bobde and Ashok Bhushan – will hear the matter.

Abhishek Manu Singhvi, appearing for the Congress and JD(S) alliance, said the governor’s decision to ask BJP to form government was unconstitutional. “It is the biggest licence to poaching if the governor gives 15 days to BJP to prove majority as in earlier such cases 48 hours were given by the Supreme Court,” Singhvi said, according to NDTV.

Attorney General KK Venugopal, appearing for the Centre, said the Congress and the JD(S) should have waited for the floor test to be conducted. BJP’s lawyer Mukul Rohatgi asked for the petition to be dismissed.

“We do not know what kind of majority BS Yeddyurappa has claimed. Unless we see that letter of support, we cannot speculate,” ANI quoted Justice SA Bobde as saying.

The late-night events came a day after the election results in Karnataka threw up an inconclusive verdict. Despite securing the most seats, the BJP did not win enough to form government by itself. The Congress and the JD(S) formed a post-poll alliance and together had enough seats to form government. After the alliance approached the governor to stake claim to form the government, the BJP also staked its own claim.

Support our journalism by subscribing to Scroll+ here. We welcome your comments at
Sponsored Content BY 

The qualities of a high-performance luxury sedan

A lesson in harnessing tremendous power to deliver high performance.

Gone are the days when the rich and successful would network during a round of golf, at least in the Silicon Valley. As reported by New York Times, ‘auto-racing has become a favourite hobby for the tech elites’. However, getting together on a race track would require a machine that provides control while testing extreme limits. Enter the Mercedes-AMG range of cars.

Mercedes-AMG’s rise from a racing outfit to a manufacturer of peak performance cars is dotted with innovations that have pushed the boundaries of engineering. While the AMG series promises a smooth driving experience, its core is made up of a passion for motorsports and a spirit that can be summarized in two words – power and performance. These integral traits draw like-minded people who share and express Mercedes-AMG’s style of performance.

The cars we drive say a lot about us, it’s been said. There are several qualities of an AMG performance luxury sedan that overlap with the qualities of its distinguished owner. For instance, creating an impression comes naturally to both, so does the ambition to always deliver an exceptional performance. However, the strongest feature is that both the owner and the AMG marque continually challenge themselves in pursuit of new goals, stretching the limits of performance.

This winning quality comes alive, especially, in the latest Mercedes-AMG marque – the Mercedes-AMG E 63 S 4MATIC+. With the most powerful engine to have ever been installed in an E-class, this undisputed performance sedan promises immense power at the driver’s command. With 612 HP under its hood, the car achieves 0-100 km/h in just a few seconds - 3.4 to be precise. Moreover, the car comes with the latest driver-assistance technology that promises intelligent control and provides an agile and responsive ride.

But, the new AMG is not just about work (or traction in car lingo). One of its core features is to provide its owners a challenge on the race track. Its drift mode, which converts the vehicle into a pure rear-wheel drive, offers pure exhilaration and adds a work-play dynamic to the car. In that sense, the new AMG is a collaborator of sorts - one that partners with its owner to create an impression through performance. And on the weekends, the car pushes him/her to express absolute power using its race mode with a thunderous roar of the engine - the pure sound of adrenalin. This balance between work and play has been achieved using cutting-edge features in the car that together create an almost intuitive driver-machine relationship.

If you’re looking for a car that shares your enthusiasm for driving, you’ll find a partner in the new AMG. However, buying an AMG is not just about owning a powerhouse on wheels, it’s also about adopting a driving philosophy in which power is just the starting point - the main skill lies in how you manoeuvre that power on the road. A performance sedan in its sportiest form, Mercedes-AMG’s latest model takes vehicle performance to an unmatched level. A decade ago, this amount of speed and power in a luxury 4-door model would be un-thinkable.


The new Mercedes-AMG comes with a host of individualisation options through designo, the artistic side of Mercedes’s innovation, so the car becomes an extension of the owner’s distinctive personality. An expressive design with a new radiator grille and a muscular front apron showcase its athleticism. A new-age driver environment, widescreen cockpit, the AMG performance steering wheel and sports seat delivers an intensive driving experience. With the Mercedes-AMG E 63 S 4MATIC+, AMG has created an undisputed performance sedan that can rip the race track as well as provide reliable luxury sedan-duty. To know more about the most powerful E-class of all time, see here.

This article was produced by the Scroll marketing team on behalf of Mercedes-Benz and not by the Scroll editorial team.