The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday won 13 of 27 seats in the local body bye-elections held in several parts of Rajasthan, PTI reported. The polls were conducted for one zila parishad seat, 17 panchayat samitis seats and nine nagar palika/parishad seats in 17 districts of the state.

The saffron party secured 11 panchayat samiti seats and two nagar palika seats. The Congress won five panchayat samiti seats and five nagar palika/parishad seats. Congress candidate Lokesh was re-elected to his post in Sawaimadhopur zila parishad.

Independent candidates secured one panchayat samiti and one nagar palika seat.

State BJP General Secretary Bhajan Lal Sharma said the election results proved the people still had faith in the party. Rajasthan Congress Committee President Sachin Pilot, however, interpreted the result to indicate that people have “rejected the BJP due to its anti-people policies”.