The Centre on Tuesday handed over the two ministries handled by the late Ananth Kumar to other members of the council of ministers. While the parliamentary affairs ministry was given to Narendra Singh Tomar, the Cabinet minister in charge of rural development, panchayati raj and mines, Minister of Statistics and Programme Implementation DV Sadananda Gowda was handed additional charge of the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizer, a government press release said.

Kumar died of lung cancer on Monday. He was cremated with full state honours in Bengaluru on Tuesday.

Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP President Amit Shah, former Deputy Prime Minister LK Advani, and Union ministers Rajnath Singh, Nirmala Sitharaman, Rajnath Singh, Piyush Goyal and Ravi Shankar paid tribute to Kumar. Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy, and Congress leaders DK Shivakumar and Dinesh Gundu Rao also paid respects to the minister.

The Union Cabinet condoled Ananth Kumar’s death and observed a two-minute silence. The state government announced three days of mourning on Monday.