The Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday released its first list of 78 candidates for the Haryana Legislative Assembly elections. The saffron party has given tickets to wrestlers Yogeshwar Dutt and Babita Phogat. While Dutt will contest from Baroda, Phogat will be a candidate from Dadri. Former India hockey team captain Sandeep Singh will contest from Pehowa seat.

Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar will contest from Karnal, the seat he won for the first time in the 2014 Haryana Assembly polls. Haryana BJP President Subhash Barala will contest from Tohana.

Assembly elections for all 90 seats in the state will be held on October 21, and the results declared on October 24. The BJP, which is contesting the polls on its own, won 47 seats in 2014.

Sandeep Singh and Olympic medallist wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt had joined the BJP on September 26. Olympic Medalist Babita Phogat, on the other hand, became a member of the saffron party on August 12, along with her father Mahavir Phogat.

Corrections and clarifications: An earlier version of this article described Sandeep Singh as an Olympic medallist. The error has been corrected.

Now, follow and debate the day’s most significant stories on Scroll Exchange.