Indians in Hollywood

Oscar academy invites record number of Indians as members, from Aamir Khan to Anand Patwardhan

The push for diversity at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will result in greater Indian representation.

Expect a lot more Indian faces at the Oscars in 2018. Indian cinema’s top-drawer actors, directors and writers are among the global celebrities who have been invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, which organises the annual Oscar awards. According to The Hollywood Reporter, the Indians on the list of 744 new members is heavy on Bollywood, with Aamir Khan, Salman Khan, Priyanka Chopra, Irrfan, Amitabh Bachchan, Deepika Padukone and Aishwarya Rai making the list of actors. Mrinal Sen and Goutam Ghose have been invited among the directors, while Sooni Taraporevala and Buddhadeb Dasgupta have been added to the list of writers.

Costume designer Arjun Bhasin has made the cut too. Among documentary filmmakers, Anand Patwardhan has been invited to be a member. Amrit Pritam Dutta, the sound designer of PK and Kaabil, has also been invited, as has been Ujwal Nirgudkar, technical adviser for the National Heritage Mission.

“That number is more than the record 683 invitations that were issued in 2016 and well above the 322 invites that went out in 2015 as the Academy has made a concerted effort to diversify its membership ranks by bringing in more women, people of color and filmmakers from around the world,” the report said.

Membership to the academy, which hands out the Oscars every year, is by invitation only. Oscar nominees are eligible, as are candidates proposed by two current Academy members from the same field as the candidate.

The Academy has been addressing allegations of a lack of diversity in race and gender in its membership over the past few years. The latest decision also reflects the recognition that talent from all over the world contributes to Hollywood and the Oscars every year. With the new membership list, television audiences around the world have greater reason to tune into the Oscars, even as viewership slides back home.

“Seven of the Academy branches — actors, casting directors, costume designers, documentary, executives and film editors — invited more women than men,” the report said. The criterion is that the candidates must have “demonstrated exceptional achievement in the field of theatrical motion pictures”.

Indians who have been invited to be members in the past include AR Rahman, Sharmila Tagore, Resul Pookutty and Freida Pinto.

The latest list includes several established and new Hollywood stars, including Chris Evans, Chris Hemsworth, Adam Driver, Gal Gadot and Dwayne Johnson. The oldest invitee is 95-year-old Betty White, while the youngest is 19-year-old Elle Fanning, the report added.

Support our journalism by subscribing to Scroll+ here. We welcome your comments at
Sponsored Content BY 

Get ready for an 80-hour shopping marathon

Here are some tips that’ll help you take the lead.

Starting 16th July at 4:00pm, Flipkart will be hosting its Big Shopping Days sale over 3 days (till 19th July). This mega online shopping event is just what a sale should be, promising not just the best discounts but also buying options such as no cost EMIs, buyback guarantee and product exchanges. A shopping festival this big, packed with deals that you can’t get yourself to refuse, can get overwhelming. So don’t worry, we’re here to tell you why Big Shopping Days is the only sale you need, with these helpful hints and highlights.

Samsung Galaxy On Nxt (64 GB)

A host of entertainment options, latest security features and a 13 MP rear camera that has mastered light come packed in sleek metal unibody. The sale offers an almost 40% discount on the price. Moreover, there is a buyback guarantee which is part of the deal.

Original price: Rs. 17,900

Big Shopping Days price: Rs. 10,900

Samsung 32 inches HD Ready LED TV

Another blockbuster deal in the sale catalogue is this audio and visual delight. Apart from a discount of 41%, the deal promises no-cost EMIs up to 12 months.

Original price: Rs. 28,890

Big Shopping Days price: Rs. 10,900

Intel Core I3 equipped laptops

These laptops will make a thoughtful college send-off gift or any gift for that matter. Since the festive season is around the corner, you might want to make use of this sale to bring your A-game to family festivities.

Original price: Rs. 25,590

Big Shopping Days price: Rs. 21,900


If you’ve been planning a mid-year wardrobe refresh, Flipkart’s got you covered. The Big Shopping Days offer 50% to 80% discount on men’s clothing. You can pick from a host of top brands including Adidas and Wrangler.

With more sale hours, Flipkart’s Big Shopping Days sale ensures we can spend more time perusing and purchasing these deals. Apart from the above-mentioned products, you can expect up to 80% discount across categories including mobiles, appliances, electronics, fashion, beauty, home and furniture.

Features like blockbuster deals that are refreshed every 8 hours along with a price crash, rush hour deals from 4-6 PM on the starting day and first-time product discounts makes this a shopping experience that will have you exclaiming “Sale ho to aisi! (warna na ho)”

Set your reminders and mark your calendar, Flipkart’s Big Shopping Days starts 16th July, 4 PM and end on 19th July. To participate in 80 hours of shopping madness, click here.


This article was produced by the Scroll marketing team on behalf of Flipkart and not by the Scroll editorial team.