Six Congress legislators in Tripura joined Trinamool Congress on Tuesday, reported IANS. The MLAs wrote to Assembly Speaker Ramendra Chandra Debnath informing him about the move. “The letter was signed by six Congress MLAs informing me that they have joined the Trinamool Congress,” Debnath said.

The legislators who made the switch include Sudip Roy Barman, Ashish Saha, Biswabandhu Sen, Diba Chandra Hrangkhawl, Pranjit Singha Roy and Dilip Sarkar. Barman, who was the leader of the opposition in the state Assembly, recently quit his post of Congress Legislator Party leader after his party forged an alliance with the Left in West Bengal for the Assembly polls. The state is ruled by the Left.

State Congress chief Birajit Sinha has asked Debnath to take action against the legislators as per the anti-defection law.