After the two new teams confirmed their three picks, the Indian Premier League announced on Saturday that a total of 1,214 players (896 Indian and 318 overseas players) have signed up to be part of the IPL 2022 player auction.

KL Rahul (Lucknow) and Hardik Pandya (Ahmedabad) were named as captains of the two new franchises, who confirmed the three players they signed from the player pool.

The two-day auction is set to be held on February 12 and 13, as confirmed by broadcaster Star Sports, with teams resetting ahead of a new cycle. The players list registered as of now incorporates 270 capped, 903 uncapped and 41 Associate nations players.

Here’s the list of players retained / signed up by the 10 franchises:

Players retained / signed ahead of IPL 2022

Ravindra Jadeja Rishabh Pant Andre Russell Rohit Sharma Mayank Agarwal
MS Dhoni Axar Patel Varun Chakaravarthy Jasprit Bumrah Arshdeep Singh
Moeen Ali Prithvi Shaw Venkatesh Iyer Suryakumar Yadav  
Ruturaj Gaikwad Anrich Nortje Sunil Narine Kieron Pollard  

Players retained / signed ahead of IPL 2022

RR RCB SRH Team Ahmedabad Team Lucknow
Sanju Samson Virat Kohli Kane Williamson Hardik Pandya KL Rahul
Jos Buttler Glenn Maxwell Abdul Samad Rashid Khan Marcus Stoinis
Yashasvi Jaiswal Mohammed Siraj Umran Malik Shubman Gill Ravi Bishnoi
Courtesy: Star Sports

Auction breakdown

This is the breakdown of the original list of players registered:

  • - Capped Indian (61 players)
  • - Capped International (209 players)
  • - Associate (41 players)
  • - Uncapped Indians who were a part of previous IPL seasons (143 players)
  • - Uncapped International who were a part of previous IPL seasons (6 players)
  • - Uncapped Indians (692 players)
  • - Uncapped Internationals (62 players)

UPDATE: From the original long-list the IPL announced a shortlist of 590 players for the auction.

Read more here: IPL 2022: From Ashwin, Warner to uncapped players, a complete breakdown of mega auction shortlist

UPDATED country-wise breakdown for shortlist

Country Auction List
Afghanistan 17
Australia 47
Bangladesh 5
England 24
Ireland 5
New Zealand 24
South Africa 33
Sri Lanka 23
West Indies 34
Zimbabwe 1
Namibia 3
Nepal 1
Scotland 2