Former India cricketer Chetan Sharma has been named in the Senior Men’s National Selection Committee once again and will continue in his role as the Chairman, the BCCI announced on Saturday.

“The Cricket Advisory Committee comprising Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape undertook an extensive process for selecting members of the All-India Senior Selection Committee,” the BCCI statement said. “The Board received around 600 applications following its advertisement for the five posts issued on its official website on 18 November 2022.”

BCCI said that the CAC shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews out of those applications and ultimately the following members were recommended.

Senior Men’s National Selection Committee:

1) Chetan Sharma

2) Shiv Sundar Das

3) Subroto Banerjee

4) Salil Ankola

5) Sridharan Sharath

About the new panel, PTI reported that junior chairman of selectors S Sharath of South Zone has been reported. Subroto Banerjee is from East Zone, 1996 World Cup-member Salil Ankola will be from West Zone and former Test opener Shiv Sunder Das will be from the Central zone.

Chetan Sharma was part of the senior men’s team review meeting held recently that he attended along with BCCI President Roger Binny, Secretary Jay Shah, Rohit Sharma, Rahul Dravid and Head of Cricket (NCA) VVS Laxman.

The BCCI had asked for new applications from selectors post India’s T20 World Cup exit.