Pakistan shook off all their unpredictability to thump favourites India by 180 runs and lift the 2017 ICC Champions Trophy. After being put in to bat, their batsmen rose to the occasion and scored 338/4. In response, Pakistan’s bowlers were on fire as India were bowled out for just 158. This is Pakistan’s first ICC One-Day International global title since 1992 when they won the World Cup.

Pakistan’s openers, Azhar Ali and Fakhar Zaman, had an edgy start. Zaman, in particular, enjoyed a lucky reprieve when he was just on three, edging behind to Mahendra Singh Dhoni but Bumrah was ruled to have bowled a no-ball. That led to both the players growing in confidence as they put on 128 for the first wicket before Azhar Ali was finally run out for 59.

That did not stop Zaman though as he cruised his way to a fantastic century before being dismissed for a brilliant 114. Except Bhuvneshwar Kumar who finished with figures of 1/44 in his ten, all the other Indian bowlers went for runs. Mohammad Hafeez also hit a quickfire 37-ball 57 to ensure Pakistan finished on 338/3.

Watch the match highlights

When India batted, a fired-up Mohammad Amir had Rohit Sharma out leg-before-wicket on the third ball of India’s innings to set the tone. Two overs later, Virat Kohli was dropped, but caught off the next ball with Amir striking a major blow. It all fell apart for India from thereon as Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni and Kedar Jadhav fell in quick succession to leave India reeling at 72/6.

Hardik Pandya stuck some lusty blows in a powerful 43-ball 76 but he was undone by a run-out which summed up India’s day. Hasan Ali cleaned up the tail as India were dismissed for 158, giving Pakistan a win they will remember for years.

Brief scores:

Pakistan 338/4 in 50 overs (Fakhar Zaman 114, Azhar Ali 59; Bhuvneshwar Kumar 1/44, Kedar Jadhav 1/27) beat India 158 all out (Hardik Pandya 76, Yuvraj Singh 22; Mohammad Amir 3/16, Hasan 3/19) by 180 runs.