India A recovered from yet another top-order collapse to beat New Zealand A by six wickets in their third unofficial ODI match in Visakhapatnam on Wednesday.

Electing to bat first, New Zealand were all out for 143 in 37.1 overs. Karn Sharma was the destroyer-in-chief with a five-wicket haul, giving away just 22 runs.

Chasing a modest 144 for a win, India A were reduced to 23/3 in the eight over. Prithvi Shaw (6), Mayank Agarwal (8) and Shreevats Goswami (9)all fell for single digit scores.

But, captain Shreyas Iyer (37), Vijay Shankar (47 not out) and Deepak Hooda (37 not out) made substantial contributions to ensure that India A chased down the target with 25.2 overs to spare.

In the second match of the series – which ended in a thrilling tie – it was Iyer, along with Ankit Bawne, who had guided India’s chase after being reduced to 84/5. The series opener was washed out.