Lakshya Sen quelled the challenge of Malaysia’s Yee Han Chong in just under an hour to successfully defend his men’s singles title in the India International Series badminton tournament in Hyderabad on Sunday.

The fourth seed overcame a second game stutter to beat Chong 21-15, 17-21, 21-17 in 57 minutes to pocket his third international title.

M Tanishq had to fight harder against compatriot Shikha Gautam as the youngster bagged the women’s singles title with a 17-21, 22-20, 21-18 win in an hour and five minutes.

Results (all final):

Men’s singles: 4-Lakshya Sen (IND) bt Yee Han Chong (MAS) 21-15, 17-21, 21-17

Men’s Doubles: 3-Arun George/Sanyam Shukla (IND) bt Alwin Francis/K Nandagopal (IND) 21-19, 21-15

Women’s singles: M Tanishq (IND) bt Shikha Gautam (IND) 17-21, 22-20, 21-18

Women’s doubles: 2-Putri Sari Dewi Citra/Yujia Jin (INA) bt Jee Lynn Lim/Zhen Yap 20-22, 21-9, 21-13

Mixed doubles: 5-Tang Jie Chen/Liu Ying Goh (MAS) bt 8-Rohan Kapoor/Kuhoo Garg 21-19, 21-13