Sunday at the Commonwealth Games promised much for India and

The highlight, on a day with plenty, was the women’s table tennis team winning a historic gold medal, denying the Singapore team, which had never lost a CWG final since the event started in 2002.

Weightlifter Punam Yadav pulled off a great victory in the 69-kg category while 16-year-old Manu Bhaker was the star of the shooting contingent on day four, dominating the competition en route to a 1-2 with Heena Sidhu in the 10 metre Air Pistol final.

Ravi Kumar (10 m air rifle) and Vikas Thakur (weightlifting) were the other medal winners on India for the day.

The badminton team and veteran boxer also confirmed medals for India, the colour of which will be known in due course.

The women’s and men’s hockey teams recorded wins as well.

Here’s a round-up of all the results of the day for India.


Event Team / Players Time (IST) Result
Men's 20km walk KT Irfan 
Manish Singh Rawat
02:30 am Rawat finishes 6th, Irfan 13th
Women's 20km walk Soumiya B
Khushbir Kaur
04:45 am Khushbir finishes 4th, Soumiya disqualified
Men's 400m Round 1 - Heat 4 Muhammed Anas 11.38 am Finishes first in heat and qualifies for semis
Men's Shot Put Qualifying Round A Tejinder Singh 12:05 pm Finishes 6th and qualifies for final


Event Team / Players Time (IST) Result
Mixed Team event (Semifinal) India v Singapore 06:30 am India win 3-1 and reach final

India dominate Singapore to reach final


Event Team / Players Time (IST) Result
Women's Pool A India v England 05:00 am India win 2-1
Men Pool B India v Wales 03:00 pm India win 4-3

Indian women come from behind to beat England

Indian men scrape through to 4-3 win


Event Team / Players Time (IST) Result
Women's 10m Air Pistol (Q) Heena Sidhu
Manu Bhaker
04:30 am Bhaker and Sidhu qualify for finals
Women's Skeet (Q) Saniya Sheikh
Maheshwari Chauhan
04:30 am Sheikh qualifies for final
Men's 10m Air Rifle (Q) Ravi Kumar
Deepak Kumar
06:00 am Ravi and Deepak qualify for final
Women's 10m Air Pistol - Final Heena Sidhu
Manu Bhaker
07:30 am Bhaker wins gold, Sidhu bags silver
Women's Skeet - Final Saniya Sheikh 07:30 am Sheikh finishes 4th
Men's 10m Air Rifle - Final Ravi Kumar
Deepak Kumar
09:00 am Ravi wins bronze, Deepak finishes sixth

Bhaker, Sidhu make it one-two for India

Ravi Kumar wins 10m Air Rifle Bronze


Event Team / Players Time (IST) Result
Women's 69 kg final Punam Yadav 05:00 am Yadav wins gold
Men's 94kg final Vikas Thakur 09:30 am Thakur wins bronze
Women's 75kg final Seema 02:00 pm Seema finishes sixth

Yadav bags India’s fifth gold in weightlifting arena

Bronze for Vikas Thakur

Table Tennis

Event Team / Players Time (IST) Result
Women's team semifinal India v England Around 05:30 am India win 3-0
Women's team final India vs Singapore 02:00 pm India win gold with a 3-1 win

Historic gold for Indian women


Event Team / Players Time (IST) Result
Women's 45-48 kg - Quarterfinal MC Mary Kom
Megan Gordon
07:47 am Mary Kom wins and qualifies for semis
Men's 75kg - round of 16 Vikas Krishan
Campbell Somerville
09:32 am Krishan wins and qualifies for quarters
Women's 69 kg - Quarterfinal Lovlina Borgohain
Sandy Ryan
02:32 pm Lovlina loses and is out of contention

Mary Kom assured a medal


Event  Team / Player Time (IST) Result
Women's vault final Pranati Nayak 10:57 am Nayak finishes 8th
Men's rings final Rakesh Patra 12:16 pm Patra finishes 8th


Event Team / players Time (IST) Result
Women's POOL B India v New Zealand 01:00 pm India lose 55-90
Men's POOL B India v Scotland 04:30 pm India lose 81-96


Event Team / Players Time (IST) Result
Butterfly 100 m - Heat 2 Sajan Prakash 07:08 am Sajan Prakash qualifies for semifinals
Butterfly 100 m - semi 2 Sajan Prakash 4.28 pm Sajan Prakash finishes 5th and fails to qualify for final


Event Team/Player Time Result
Women's Keirin First Round Repechage Heat 1 Aleena Reji 2:07 pm Reji finishes 4th in heat and is out
Women's Keirin First Round Repechage Heat 2 Deborah 2:12 pm Deborah finishes 4th in heat and is out
Men's 40km Point Race Qualifying Round - Heat 2 Manjit Singh 1.42 pm Manjit finishes 14th
Men's 1000m Time Trial Final Sanuraj Sanandraj, Sahil Kumar, Ranjit Singh 2.17 pm Sahil finishes 20th, Ranjit 21st and Sanuraj 22nd
Women's 10km Scratch Race Finals Monorama Devi Tongbram, Sonali Mayanglambam 3.54 pm Both cyclists DNF