Fifteen-year-old Shardul Vihan showed tremendous shooting skills in topping qualification and then coming a close second in the finals. Vihan joined the glut of Indian teenagers stepping up to the shooting range, joining Saurabh Choudhury and Lakshay Sheoran in winning a medal at the 2018 Asian Games.

A big shock was in store for the Indian contingent as Iran outclassed the men 27-18. A lack of raids and stubborn Iranian defence made sure that India did not win a gold in kabaddi for the first time in eight editions. The women remained on track for a third successive gold by beating Chinese Taipei 27-14.

Ankita Raina lost a close-fought semi-final but assured herself of bronze, while the men’s doubles pairing of Rohan Bopanna and Divij Sharan made it to the final, and will be hoping for gold.

Elsewhere, P V Sindhu and Saina Nehwal won their opening encounters while the men’s doubles pairs of Manu Attri and Sumeeth Reddy, Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy and the women’s pairing of Ashwini Ponappa and Sikki Reddy won their respective matches.


Event Players Time Result
Women's singles R32 PV Sindhu vs Vu Thi Trang After 10.30 am Sindhu won 21-10, 12-21, 23-21
Women's singles R32 Saina Nehwal vs Soraya Aghaeihajiagha After 10.30 am Saina won 21-7, 21-9
Women's doubles R32 Ashwini Ponnappa/Sikki Reddy vs NG Wy/Yeung NT 10.30 am Ashwini/Sikki won 21-16, 21-15
Women's doubles R32 Rutaparna Panda/Arathi Sunil vs C Chaladchalam/P Muenwong After 10.30 am Rutaparna/Arathi lost 11-21, 6-21
Mixed doubles R32 Pranaav Jerry Chopra/Sikki Reddy vs PS Chan/Ly Goh After 10.30 am Pranaav/Sikki lost 15-21, 21-23
Mixed doubles R32 Ashwini Ponnappa/Satwiksairaj vs Puavaranukroh/Taerattanachai After 10.30 am Ashwini/Satwiksairaj lost 27-25, 21-16
Men's doubles R32 Satwiksairaj/Chirag Shetty vs Y Chung/ After 10.50 am Satwik/Chirag won 21-14, 21-16
Men's doubles R32 Manu Attri/Sumeeth Reddy vs TA Mohamed/MA Rasheed After 10.50 am Manu/Sumeeth won 21-10, 21-8


Event Players Time Result
Recurve men's individual R16 Viswash Around 930 am Lost in the Quarters
Recurve men's individual R16 Atanu Das Around 930 am Lost in the Quarters
Recurve women's individual R16 Promila Daimary Around 930 am Lost in the Round of 16
Recurve women's individual R16 Deepika Kumari Around 930 am Lost in the Quarters


Event Teams Time Result
Women's team semi-finals TBD 1.30 pm Won 27-14
Men's team semi-finals TBD 3.30 pm Lost 18-27

Artistics Gymnastics

Event Players Time Result
Women's vault final Pranati Nayak, Aruna Budda Reddy 2 pm Aruna finished 7th, Pranati finished 8th


Event Players Time Result
Men's double trap qualification Shardul Vihan, Ankur Mittal  8 am Shardul Vihan qualified
Ankur Mittal did not qualify
Women's double trap final Varsha Varman, Shreyasi Singh 8.15 am Varman - 6th
Shreyasi - 7th
Men's double trap final  Shardul Vihan 1 pm Shardul Vihan - SILVER


Event Players Time Result
Men's 77kg  Satish Kumar Sivalingam
Ajay Singh
Ajay - 5th
Satish - 10th


Event Players Time Result
Women's singles SF Ankita Raina vs Zhang Shuai 8 am Ankita lost 4-6, 6-7
Mixed doubles QF Rohan Bopanna/Ankita Raina vs CB Rungkat/A Sutjiadi 8 am Rohan/Ankita lost 4-6, 6-1, [6-10]
Men's doubles SF Rohan Bopanna/Divij Sharan vs K Uesugi/S Shimabukuro 9.30 am Rohan/Divij won 4-6, 6-3, [10-8]
Men's singles QF Prajnesh G vs Kwn Soonwoo 10.30 am Prajnesh won 6-7, 6-4, 7-6


Event Players Time Results
Men's single sculls final A Dattu Bhonakal 7.30 am Dattu finished 6th
Men's doubles sculls final A Om Prakash and Swarn Singh 7.50 am Om Prakash/Swarn finished 4th
Women's pairs final B Sanjukta Dung Dung, Harpreet Kaur 7 am Sanjukta/Harpreet finish 1st, finish 7th overall
Women's doubles sculls final A Sayali Shelke and Pooja 8.55 am Sayali/Pooja finish 6th
Men's Pair final A Malkeet Singh and Gurinder Singh 8.10 am Malkeet/Gurinder finish 4th
Men's lightweight fours final A Bhopal Singh, Jagvir Singh, Tejas Shinde, Pranay Naukarkar 9.40 am Team finished 4th


Event Players Time Result
Men's singles R32 Saurav Ghosal vs Mukhtar Wakeel 8 am Ghosal won 3-0
Men's singles R32 Harinder Sandhu vs Ko Youngjo 8 am Harinder won 3-0
Men's singles R16 Saurav Ghosal
Harinder Sandhu
2.30 pm Ghosal won 3-1
Harinder won 3-1
Women's singles R16 Dipika Pallikal vs TBD 5 pm Dipika won 3-0
Women's singles R16 Joshna Chinappa vs TBD 5.45 pm Joshna won 3-0


Event Players Time Result
Women's 5x5 prelims India vs Indonesia 4 pm India lose 66-69


Event Players Time Result
Men's 50m butterfly heats Virdhawal Khade, Anshul Kothari,  7 am Khade qualified
Kothari did not qualify
Men's 100m freestyle heats Aaron Dsouza, Virdhawal Khade,  7.20 am Aaron and Khade did not qualify
Men's 200m backstroke heats Srihari Nataraj, Advait Page 7.40 am Srihari qualified
Advait did not qualify
Men's 50m butterfly final Virdhawal Khade 4 pm Khade finished 8th
Men's 200m backstroke final Srihari Nataraj 5 pm Srihari finished 6th


Event Players Time Result
Women's pool India vs Kazakhstan 8 am India lose 0-3


Event Players Time Result
Women's - Round 1 (Individual and team) Sifat Sagoo, Ridhima Dilawari, Diksha Dagar 
4 am Dagar 8th (-1), Sifat 24th (+3), Ridhima 27th (+5)

Indian team 9th (+2)
Men's - Round 1 (Individual and team) Aadil Bedi, Hari Mohan Singh, Rayhan Thomas, Naveed Kshitij Kaul 4:55 am Aadil 3rd (-3), Rayhan 11th (-1), Kshitij 18th (+1), Harimohan 77th (+5)

Indian team 2nd (-3)

Canoe / Kayakking

Event  Players Time Result
Women's Singles semifinals - Canoe Champa Mourya  7:30 am Champa finished 7th


Event Players Time Result
Men's team qualification Jaggy Shivdasani, Rajeshwar Tewari, Ajay Khare, Raju Tolani, Debabrata Majumder, Sumit Mukherjee 8.30 am India 7th in qualification round 9
Mixed team round robin Kiran Nadar, Hema Deora, Himani Khandelwal, Bachiraju Satyanarayana, Gopinath Manna, Rajeev Khandelwal 8.30 am India 1st in Round Robin Round 2
Supermixed team qualification Bharati Dey, Marianne Karmarkar, Vasanti Shah, Pranab Bardhan, Finton Lewis, Shibhnath Sarkar 8.30 am India 5th in qualification round 6


Event Players Time Result
Men's Trios Parvez Ahmed Saud, Shoumick Dutta, Kishan Ramachandriah 7.30 am Finished 21st
Men's Trios Shabbir Asgarali, Akaash Ashok, Dhruv Sarda 7.30 am Finished 27th

Sport climbing

Event Players Time Result
Men's speed QF C Maibam, Bharath Pereira 7 am Maibam qualified
Bharath didn't qualify
Men's combined speed qualification C Maibam, Bharath Pereira 7 am Speed - Bharath (4th), Maibam (7th)
Bouldering - Bharath (20th), Maibam (17th)
Lead - yet to take place
Women's speed QF Shreya Nankar 7 am Shreya didn't qualify
Women's combined speed qualification Shreya Nankar 7 am Speed - 17th
Bouldering - 4th
Lead - yet to take place
Men's speed C Maibam 4 pm Finished 12th