The Governing Council of the Indian Premier League confirmed on Sunday that the 13th edition of the T20 tournament in the United Arab Emirates will be held from September 18 to November 10

After earlier reports that the government clearance was provided, the Board of Control for Cricket in India said in a press release later on Sunday night that government clearances were pending.

“Taking note of the prevailing Covid-19 situation in India, the IPL GC decided to stage the tournament in the United Arab Emirates and the matches will be played in Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi subject to necessary clearances from the Government of India,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said according to a release.

The IPL Governing Council decided that the tournament final will be played on November instead of the originally planned November 8 date, reported PTI. This would mean that tournament final will be played on a weekday for the first time.

The 53-day tournament will witness 10-afternoon matches starting at 15:30 IST while the evening matches will start at 19:30 IST.

Dates of IPL finals

Year Date
2008 June 1 (Sun)
2009 May 24 (Sun)
2010 April 25 (Sun)
2011 May 28 (Sat)
2012 May 27 (Sun)
2013 May 26 (Sun)
2014 June 1 (Sun)
2015 May 24 (Sun)
2016 May 29 (Sun)
2017 May 21 (Sun)
2018 May 27 (Sun)
2019 May 12 (Sun)
2020 Nov 10 (Tue)

It was also decided in the meeting that each franchise can travel with 24-member squads, with replacements allowed for injured or sick players.

Further, according to PTI, the GC approved Covid-19 replacements during the tournament. The International Cricket Council had introduced Covid-19 substitutes for the Test series between England and West Indies as part of the revised playing conditions.

The GC also confirmed that the Women’s T20 Challenge will also take place in the UAE and will comprise three teams with four matches to be played during the IPL Playoff week. This development was earlier reported on Sunday with confirmation from Sourav Ganguly.

From Mithali Raj to Alyssa Healy, reactions to Sourav Ganguly confirming women’s T20 event in UAE

It was also decided during the meeting that IPL will retain all sponsors of the event, including Chinese companies, reported PTI.

With growing calls around the country for boycotting Chinese goods, there were question marks over the yearly Rs 440 crore title sponsorship deal IPL had with Vivo. Having won the bid first in 2015, the mobile phone manufacturer retained the title sponsorship rights for the IPL for a five-year period starting from 2017.

“All I can say is that all our sponsors are with us. Hopefully you can read between the lines,” an IPL GC member told PTI.

Chinese sponsorship became a bone of contention after the clashes between the Indian and Chinese troops in eastern Ladakh in June. The BCCI had promised to review the deals in the aftermath of the violent showdown.

Moved out of India due to the rising Covid-19 case count, the IPL will be played in its entirety on foreign soil for the second time. In 2009, the tournament was held in South Africa while UAE hosted a part of the event in 2014 – both due to General Elections in the country.

“We expect the Home and External Affairs Ministry to give us necessary approvals within another week. The final will be played on November 10 as it enters the Diwali week making it lucrative for the broadcasters,” the IPL GC member told PTI.

“Standard Operating Procedure is still being prepared but there would be any number of Covid-19 replacements this year. Also the BCCI has received presentations from a Dubai based group on creating a medical facility in the UAE. The BCCI is also in talks with the Tata Group for creating a bio-secure bubble,” the member was quoted saying by the news agency.

Note: It was earlier reported that the women’s event will comprise four teams. But it has been confirmed by the BCCI that only three teams will be participating in the Women’s T20 Challenge. The report has also been updated with BCCI’s statement that said government clearances were pending.

With PTI inputs