The Indian hockey team won the 4th Women’s Asian Champions Trophy in Singapore on Saturday after it beat China 2-1 in the finals. Striker Deepika Thakur scored the winning goal for India 20 seconds before the match came to an end.

At the end of the first quarter, India was leading after Deep Grace Ekka scored a penalty corner in the 13th minute. But China scored the equaliser at the 44th minute.

The Indian team had maintained an unbeaten run in the tournament till November 4 when they were defeated by China. After the Friday’s match, China topped the table with nine points while India occupied the second spot with seven points. On October 30, the men's team had defeated Pakistan 3-2 to lift the trophy.