The All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam on Thursday nominated its presidium chairperson E Madhusudhanan its candidate for the bye-election to the Radhakrishnan Nagar Assembly constituency, The Times of India reported. The bye-poll will be held on December 21.

The RK Nagar seat fell vacant after its MLA, former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa, died in December 2016.

Madhusudhanan’s candidature was announced after a meeting of the AIADMK parliamentary board at the party headquarters in Chennai’s Royapettah on Thursday. He is said to be a loyalist of former chief minister O Panneerselvam’s.

“We are happy to announce that Madhusudhanan is the official candidate of the party in the bye-poll,” a statement by O Panneerselvam and E Palaniswami, the coordinator and joint coordinator of the party, said. “The unanimous decision has been taken after reviewing the nominations filed for the poll.”

Madhusudhanan was first nominated as the AIADMK candidate from RK Nagar in April. However, the Election Commission cancelled the RK Nagar bye-poll after allegations of parties bribing the electorate for votes. The rebel faction of the AIADMK had on Wednesday named TTV Dinakaran as its candidate for the bye-election.