Journalist Rahul Kotiyal, who works with’s Hindi website Satyagrah, has won a Ramnath Goenka Excellence in Journalism Award. He was among the 27 journalists who were handed their awards at an event in Delhi on Wednesday.

Vice President Venkaiah Naidu was the chief guest at the event. Among the winners were 17 journalists from print media and 10 from broadcast media. Kotiyal won the award in the Hindi category for print media.

The Ramnath Goenka Awards “recognise courage and commitment and showcase the outstanding contributions of journalists from across the country”, a report in The Indian Express said. The winners were awarded Rs 1 lakh and a trophy.

The jury selected the winners from among 800 entries. Former Supreme Court judge BN Srikrishna, HDFC Ltd Chairperson Deepak Parekh, former Chief Election Commissioner SY Quraishi and senior journalist Pamela Philipose were members of the jury.

The journalists were awarded for their investigative reporting, reporting from Jammu and Kashmir and the North East, sports and civic journalism, and reporting in Hindi, among other categories.