journalists won two of the four Shriram Sanlam Awards for Excellence in Financial Journalism for 2015. Mridula Chari was named the winner in the category of reporting on economic policy for her story on the new capital being built by Andhra Pradesh. M Rajshekhar won the prize for his report tracing the factors that are driving away industry from Punjab.

Four winners and four runners-up were picked from the 1,200 stories nominated to the awards. Ten of stories were on the final shortlist. Among those were Anumeha Yadav’s stories investigating the effectiveness of labour reforms and financial inclusion schemes introduced by the Modi government, and the series on coal block auctions reported by M Rajshekhar and Supriya Sharma.

The jury of the awards included TN Ninan, the chairman of Business Standard, Swaminathan S Aiyar, consulting editor of Economic Times, Gopal Srinivasan, chairman and managing director of TVS Capital Ltd, among others.

The awards were presented by the Minister of State for Finance Jayant Sinha in New Delhi on Saturday.

R Jagannathan, the editorial director of Swarajya, was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award.