India vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane, who had a below-par tour of England with the bat, was named on Wednesday to lead Mumbai in the Vijay Hazare Trophy limited-overs tournament.

Mumbai, who are placed in Elite Group A, begin their campaign against Baroda in Alur on September 19 in the 50-over tournament. Shreyas Iyer, who was ignored by the national selectors for the Asia Cup in the UAE, will be his deputy, said a release from the Mumbai Cricket Association.

Rahane, too, has not found a berth in the Asia Cup squad, which will be led by another Rohit Sharma. Young opener Prithvi Shaw, who was recently picked in the Indian Test squad for the fourth and fifth Tests against England but did not get a game, is also part of the squad.

Mumbai are to be grouped with Baroda, Karnataka, Railways, Vidarbha, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Goa and Maharashtra in the league phase.

Squad: Ajinkya Rahane (captain), Shreyas Iyer (vice-captain), Prithvi Shaw, Jay Bista, Suryakumar Yadav, Siddhesh Lad, Aditya Tare, Eknath Kerkar, Shivam Dube, Akash Parkar, Dhaval Kulkarni, Shams Mulani, Vijay Gohil, Tushar Deshpande, Royston Dias.