Uttarakhand Assembly Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal on Thursday cancelled the membership of Bharatiya Janata Party MLA Bhim Lal Arya and Congress MLA Rekha Arya for cross-voting in the floor test held in the House on May 10, ANI reported. Both legislators had voted for the opposite party, in which the Congress had emerged victorious after weeks of political controversy in the state.

Uttarakhand Chief Minister Harish Rawat (pictured above) assumed office after the Supreme Court announced the results. The Congress regained power in the state with the help of two Bahujan Samaj Party legislators, who voted in their favour.

The state had been under President’s Rule after rebel Congress leaders supported the Bharatiya Janata Party when it staked claim to form government in Uttarakhand. These MLAs, who have now joined the BJP, were suspended from the Assembly and banned from voting in the floor test.