Mumbai recorded a 52.16% voter turnout on Tuesday as the city held local body elections for the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation, Hindustan Times reported. Several other cities and districts in Maharashtra also held their civic elections.

Apart from ten civic bodies, 11 zilla parishads and 118 panchayat samitis will also hold their second phase of elections today, PTI reported. At least 1.95 crore voters are registered for the civic body elections, while more than 1.80 crore will cast their ballots in the zilla parishad and panchayat polls.

Several well-known personalities cast their ballot, including cricketer Sachin Tendulkar and actors Shraddha Kapoor and Bhagyashree. Politicians including Shiv Sena leaders Uddhav Thackeray and Aditya Thackeray and Maharashtra Navnirman Sena chief Raj Thackeray also voted.

However, some politicians and celebrities including actor Varun Dhawan and Bharatiya Janata Party leader Shaina NC were unable to vote because their names could not be found on the electoral lists. While Shaina was able to vote after taking help from local authorities, Dhawan said he would check with the Election Commission. The names of more than 1.1 million voters was not on the electoral rolls, according to Business Standard.

State Election Commissioner JS Saharia said voters chose from more than 17,000 candidates across the state in the local body polls. “As many as 43,160 polling booths have been set up. There will be 2.76 lakh election staff and an equal number of police personnel on the duty,” Saharia said. A total of 2,275 candidates contested for the 227 seats in the BMC, he added.

The elections to the BMC – India’s richest civic body with an annual budget of over Rs 37,000 crore – had turned into a a bitter fight between the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Shiv Sena, who had ended their alliance before the polls. The two sides, which have traded corruption accusations, fought the civic polls separately for the first time in two decades. They continue to be troubled allies in the Maharashtra government.

Opposition parties including the Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party also sought to retain their base in the city and other parts of the state, DNA reported. The Congress currently has 52 seats and the NCP has 14 in the BMC. Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam said his party will “surprise everyone in Mumbai when the results are out”. NCP spokesperson Nawab Malik has said that the party will win elections to the Akola, Pune and Pimpri-Chinchwad civic bodies. “People are fed up with [state Chief Minister Devendra] Fadnavis’ lies and inefficiency,” Malik said.

Other parties that stood in the local body elections include the Raj Thackeray-led Mahashtra Navnirman Sena, the Samajwadi Party and the Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen.

The results will be announced on February 23.