state news

Tamil Nadu: 19 AIADMK legislators who support Dinakaran urge governor to remove CM Palaniswami

They said they were dissatisfied with his decision to merge his party faction with O Panneerselvam’s.

Nineteen MLAs of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam who belong to sacked party Deputy General Secretary TTV Dinakaran’s camp (pictured above) told Tamil Nadu Governor C Vidyasagar Rao on Tuesday that they did not support Chief Minister Edappadi Palaniswami and want him removed from the post.

The MLAs said they were dissatisfied with Palaniswami’s decision to merge his AIADMK faction with former Chief Minister O Panneerselvam’s camp on Monday. Many Dinakaran loyalists said they were unhappy with the functioning of the government, and that they do not believe it will last. One of the loyalists, CR Saraswathi, also asked why party chief VK Sasikala was being shunned.

However, the legislators did not withdraw their support from the government formally. Besides these 19 MLAs, three other allies also back Dinakaran.

Meanwhile, Dinakaran on Tuesday expelled senior AIADMK MP R Vaithilingam from the party for his statement on Monday saying Sasikala will be removed from the AIADMK soon, ANI reported. Vaithilinigam was appointed the deputy AIADMK coordinator after the merger.

OPS camp’s demands

Before the merger, the Paneerselvan faction had demanded a written assurance that Sasikala will be sacked as the party chief. On Monday, Palaniswami had delayed the scheduled announcement of the merger as the draft resolution to remove Sasikala from the party was not ready. Panneerselvam had later said that the decision to expel Sasikala will be made after the party’s general body meeting.

Around 18 party MLAs meditated at the memorial of late Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa at the Marina Beach in Chennai after the two AIADMK factions announced their merger at the party headquarters on Monday.

We welcome your comments at
Sponsored Content BY 

Advice from an ex-robber on how to keep your home safe

Tips on a more hands-on approach of keeping your house secure.

Home, a space that is entirely ours, holds together our entire world. Where our children grow-up, parents grow old and we collect a lifetime of memories, home is a feeling as much as it’s a place. So, what do you do when your home is eyed by miscreants who prowl the neighbourhood night and day, plotting to break in? Here are a few pre-emptive measures you can take to make your home safe from burglars:

1. Get inside the mind of a burglar

Before I break the lock of a home, first I bolt the doors of the neighbouring homes. So that, even if someone hears some noise, they can’t come to help.

— Som Pashar, committed nearly 100 robberies.

Burglars study the neighbourhood to keep a check on the ins and outs of residents and target homes that can be easily accessed. Understanding how the mind of a burglar works might give insights that can be used to ward off such danger. For instance, burglars judge a house by its front doors. A house with a sturdy door, secured by an alarm system or an intimidating lock, doesn’t end up on the burglar’s target list. Upgrade the locks on your doors to the latest technology to leave a strong impression.

Here are the videos of 3 reformed robbers talking about their modus operandi and what discouraged them from robbing a house, to give you some ideas on reinforcing your home.


2. Survey your house from inside out to scout out weaknesses

Whether it’s a dodgy back door, a misaligned window in your parent’s room or the easily accessible balcony of your kid’s room, identify signs of weakness in your home and fix them. Any sign of neglect can give burglars the idea that the house can be easily robbed because of lax internal security.

3. Think like Kevin McCallister from Home Alone

You don’t need to plant intricate booby traps like the ones in the Home Alone movies, but try to stay one step ahead of thieves. Keep your car keys on your bed-stand in the night so that you can activate the car alarm in case of unwanted visitors. When out on a vacation, convince the burglars that the house is not empty by using smart light bulbs that can be remotely controlled and switched on at night. Make sure that your newspapers don’t pile up in front of the main-door (a clear indication that the house is empty).

4. Protect your home from the outside

Collaborate with your neighbours to increase the lighting around your house and on the street – a well-lit neighbourhood makes it difficult for burglars to get-away, deterring them from targeting the area. Make sure that the police verification of your hired help is done and that he/she is trustworthy.

While many of us take home security for granted, it’s important to be proactive to eliminate even the slight chance of a robbery. As the above videos show, robbers come up with ingenious ways to break in to homes. So, take their advice and invest in a good set of locks to protect your doors. Godrej Locks offer a range of innovative locks that are un-pickable and un-duplicable. To secure your house, see here.

The article was produced by the Scroll marketing team on behalf of Godrej Locks and not by the Scroll editorial team.