civic polls

Congress sweeps Nanded Municipal Corporation election in Maharashtra

The party won 69 seats while the BJP bagged only six.

The Congress has managed to retain its hold over the Nanded-Waghala City Municipal Corporation, the bastion of former Maharashtra Chief Minister Ashok Chavan. Out of the 81 seats, the party has so far won 69, India Today reported.

The results are a setback for the Bharatiya Janata Party, which has managed to win only six wards. While the Shiv Sena has bagged one seat, independent candidates won three seats. Both All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen and Congress’ ally, the Nationalist Congress Party, did not win any seat.

Chavan said the election results were a proof that the BJP’s time in Maharashtra was coming to an end. “This is one tight slap to the BJP’s politics of splitting other parties and importing leaders from other parties,” Chavan said, according to Mint.

The polls to the civic body were held on Wednesday, and recorded a voter turnout of nearly 65%. The State Election Commission had deployed the Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail voting machines in 31 polling stations for the first time in Maharashtra.

The Congress had won 41 seats in the 81-seat civic body in 2012, followed by Shiv Sena (14 corporators) AIMIM (11) and the Nationalist Congress Party (10).

We welcome your comments at
Sponsored Content BY 

When house hunting is as easy as shopping for groceries

The supermarket experience comes to a sector where you least expected it.

The woes of a house hunter in India are many. The dreary process starts with circling classifieds in newspapers and collecting shiny brochures. You flip through the proposed and ready designs that launch a hundred daydreams on the spot. So far so good. But, every house hunter would attest to the soul-crushing experience of checking out a disappointing property.

The kitchen of a 2BHK is carved from the corner of the hall, the 3BHK is a converted 2BHK, the building looks much older than in the pictures…. after months of reading the fine line, and between the lines, you feel like all the diagrams and highlights seem to blur into each other.

After much mental stress, if you do manage to zero in on a decent property, there’s a whole new world of knowledge to be navigated - home loans to be sifted through, taxes to be sorted and a finance degree to be earned for understanding it all.

Do you wish a real estate platform would address all your woes? Like a supermarket, where your every need (and want) is catered to? Imagine all your property choices nicely lined up and arranged with neat labels and offers. Imagine being able to compare all your choices side by side. Imagine viewing verfied listings and knowing what you see is what you get. Imagine having other buyers and experts guiding you along every step while you make one of the most important investments in your life. Imagine...

MagicBricks has made every Indian house hunters’ daydream of a simplified real estate supermarket a reality. Now you have more than a pile of brochures at your disposal as the online real estate marketplace brings you lakhs of choices to your fingertips. Instead of bookmarking pages, you can narrow down your choices by area, budget, house type etc. Just so you aren’t hit by FOMO, you can always add a suburb you’ve been eyeing or an extra bedroom to your filter. But there’s more to a house than just floor space. On MagicBricks, you can check for good schools in the vicinity, a park for evening walks or at least an assured easier commute. Save time and energy by vetting properties based on the specs, pictures and floor plans uploaded and have all your niggling concerns addressed on the users’ forum.

Shortlisted a property? Great! No need to descend down another spiral of anxiety. Get help from reliable experts on MagicBricks on matters of legalities, home loans, investment, property worth etc. You can even avail their astrology and Vastu services to ensure an auspicious start to life in your new home or office. With its entire gamut of offerings, MagicBricks has indeed brought the supermarket experience to real estate in India, as this fun video shows below.


Get started with a simplified experience of buying, renting and selling property on MagicBricks here.

This article was produced by the Scroll marketing team on behalf of MagicBricks and not by the Scroll editorial team.