Four MLAs of the Janata Dal (Secular) resigned from the Karnataka Assembly on Saturday, a day after the Congress won three Rajya Sabha seats amid cross-voting.

“On Saturday, Chaluvaraya Swamy, BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan, R Akhanda Srinivasamurthy and Bheema Naik have resigned from the Legislative Assembly,” Koliwad told reporters later. “When I asked them personally, they said they resigned on their own without political pressure or any duress. I have accepted their resignations.”

The Hindu had reported on Friday that seven JD(S) MLAs – BZ Zameer Ahmed Khan, N Cheluvarayaswamy, Akhanda Srinivasa Murthy R, HC Balakrishna, Bhima Naik, Ramesh Bandisidde Gowda, and Iqbal Ansari – would join the Congress in the presence of its national President Rahul Gandhi on Sunday.

Asked about his decision to quit, Khan said that the JD(S) had become “a party of one-upmanship”. “[Party chief] HD Kumaraswamy does not listen to anyone. He does not bother to consult his father, or elder brother HD Revanna. Will he listen to us?,” he asked.

Votes cast by seven rebel JD(S) MLAs helped the Congress to win a third seat in the elections. The JD(S) pulled out of the polls, alleging malpractices by the ruling party.