Former Karnataka Chief Minister and Bharatiya Janata Party leader BS Yeddyurappa on Monday said his son would not contest from Varuna constituency in Mysuru, reported NDTV. BY Vijayendra had already started campaigning in the constituency, according to The Deccan Chronicle.

Vijayendra was seen as a likely candidate to contest against Chief Minister Siddaramaiah’s son Yatheendra from the constituency.

“I am not unhappy,” Yeddyurappa said at a meeting organised by the party in Mysuru. “We decided that my son won’t contest from Varuna. Vijayendra worked hard on this seat. He will now campaign in many seats in this area.” Yeddyurappa said the party would field a local functionary from the constituency.

Vijayendra also tweeted in support of the party’s decision, and said he would continue to work towards bringing the BJP to power in Karnataka.

An unidentified BJP official, however, said they were surprised at Yeddyurappa’s decision as no one in the party was opposed to Vijayendra’s candidature. “Though there were other senior aspirants from the same seat, it had been a given that Vijayendra would contest [the] elections,” the official said, according to The News Minute.

Some party workers who had gathered at the meeting in Mysuru reportedly started flinging chairs after Yeddyurappa made the announcement. Workers walked on to the dais and damaged furniture, reported The Indian Express. They also tried to stop cars of Vijayendra and senior leaders. The police used force to control the situation, reported Bangalore Mirror.

Congress leader Veerappa Moily said that the decision showed BJP’s lack of preparedness. “Making all sorts of heroic statements and now saying my son is not contesting doesn’t augur well,” said Moily, according to NDTV. “It means they are not courageous to face Siddaramaiah.”

The BJP released its fourth list of candidates for seven seats in the Karnataka Assembly elections on Monday. Actor Jaggesh has been given a ticket to contest from Yeshvantpur.

With the latest list, the party has announced candidates for 220 out of 224 seats. The candidate for Badami, from where Chief Minister Siddaramaiah will contest for the Congress, is yet to be announced. The state will go to polls on May 12, and the results will be announced on May 15.