Karnataka Chief Minister-designate HD Kumaraswamy will face a floor test in the Vidhan Soudha, the state Assembly, on Thursday, ANI reported. Kumaraswamy will be sworn in as the chief minister on Wednesday.

Kumaraswamy’s Janata Dal (Secular) won 37 seats in this month’s elections to the 224-member Assembly. The Congress won 78 seats. The two parties then formed an alliance and staked claim to form the government.

Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala gave Kumaraswamy 15 days to prove his majority after Bharatiya Janata Party leader BS Yeddyurappa resigned as chief minister just before his trust vote on Saturday.

On Tuesday, Kumaraswamy said that Congress leader G Parameshwara will be the deputy chief minister. He added that the portfolios in the new Cabinet will be decided on Thursday.