After their stellar show at the Rio Paralympics, the Centre announced a total cash prize of Rs 90 lakh for India's four medal winners. Gold medal winners – Mariyappan Thangavelu, in high jump, and Devendra Jhajharia in javelin throw – will be rewarded with Rs 30 lakh each. Shot putter and silver medalist Deepa Malik will get Rs 20 lakh, while Varun Singh Bhati, who won bronze in the high jump, will be given Rs 10 lakh. In contrast, PV Sindhu, who won silver at the Rio Olympics, had got Rs 30 lakh, while Sakshi Malik, who clinched bronze, was awarded Rs 20 lakh.

The cash reward will be given by the Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot under the Awareness Generation and Publicity scheme, reported PTI. "Indian para-athletes bagged impressive four medals at the Rio Paralympics 2016 and made history," Gehlot said. "The success of para-athletes has made India proud. The department has decided to give a cash prize of total Rs 90 lakh to the medal winners," he added. This was India's best-ever performance at the Paralympic Games till date.