Rishabh Pant has made his highly-anticpated debut for India, as he won his first Test cap at Trent Bridge on Saturday in the third match of the ongoing series against England.

India made three changes to the playing XI, with Pant replacing Dinesh Karthik, while fit-again Jasprit Bumrah was back in the fold replacing Kuldeep Yadav and Shikhar Dhawan came in for Murali Vijay.

Pant, 20 years 318 days old, became the fifth youngest Indian wicket-keeper and the 291st player to win the Test cap for the country.

England skipper Joe Root won the toss and elected to field against India in the third cricket Test at Trent Bridge.

England made just one change, bringing in all-rounder Ben Stokes in place of Sam Curran.


India: Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (w), Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah

England: Alastair Cook, Keaton Jennings, Joe Root (c), Ollie Pope, Jonny Bairstow (w), Jos Buttler, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, James Anderson

Tweet does not exist

And a large percentage of our readers wanted Pant

Readers' choice playing XI

Player Percentage of votes
M Vijay 54%
KL Rahul 71%
Cheteshwar Pujara 96%
Virat Kohli 100%
Ajinkya Rahane 75%
Rishabh Pant 75%
R Ashwin 85%
Hardik Pandya 43%
Ishant Sharma 90%
Md Shami 91%
Jasprit Bumrah 92%