The 12th edition of the One-Day International World Cup begins on May 30, as the marquee tournament returns to where it all began back in 1975. In what will be the fifth World Cup held in England, 10 best teams in the game will take on each other in a round-robin format similar to the 1992 edition. The top four will then play the semi-finals before the summit clash to decide the champions at the Home of Cricket, Lord’s, on 14 July.

Australia have found form in recent times and will start their title defence as a confident unit while England and India, No 1 and 2 in the current rankings, start as favourites as well.

The final cut-off to announce the provisional 15-member squads for the tournament in 23 April, with teams allowed to make potential changes up until 23 May.

As the teams announce their squads, we take a look at how various teams shape up here.

(This article will be updated as and when the remaining teams announce their squads during the course of this week)


India named a tried and tested squad for the World Cup led by Virat Kohli with selectors going for experience in all the slots for the marquee 50-over event.

Dinesh Karthik, 33, was given the second wicketkeeper’s slot over rising 21-year-old star Rishabh Pant, ending days of speculation over the role. Vijay Shankar’s inclusion means he will probably be the first choice number four batsman, a position which India has struggle to fill permanently. Karthik has not been on form in recent games, but selectors said they value his performance under pressure over the years.

India’s World Cup squad:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, K.L. Rahul, Vijay Shankar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Dinesh Karthik, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami.

More about India’s squad here.


Steve Smith and David Warner completed their remarkable comeback from the ball-tampering scandal that rocked cricket when they were selected in defending champion Australia’s World Cup squad. But there was no room for Josh Hazlewood or Peter Handscomb at the tournament in England and Wales.

It is the first call-up for the former captain and his deputy since the expiry last month of year-long bans for their part in “sandpapergate” in Cape Town that had wide repercussions for Australian cricket.

Australia’s recent red-hot form has been built on the back of a rock-solid opening partnership between Finch and Usman Khawaja.

Australia’s World Cup squad: Aaron Finch (capt), Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Steve Smith, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon, Adam Zampa

More about Australia’s squad here.

New Zealand

New Zealand opted for experience in a 15-man squad, with rookie Tom Blundell’s inclusion as back-up wicketkeeper the only real surprise.

The Black Caps hope to shed their tag as valiant losers and claim the title after exiting in the semi-finals six times and suffering a heavy defeat to Australia in their only appearance in the final four years ago.

Wellington keeper Blundell was selected after Tim Siefert, the regular back-up to first-choice gloveman Tom Latham, broke his finger in a domestic match. Mitchell Santner will be the New Zealanders’ primary spinner, with Ish Sodhi edging Todd Astle to claim the second slow bowling position.

New Zealand’s World Cup squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Jimmy Neesham, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

More about New Zealand’s squad here.


Uncapped pace bowler Abu Jayed and batsman Mosaddek Hossain, who last played for Bangladesh at the Asia Cup in September, got the nod as Bangladesh named an otherwise experienced 15-man squad for the cricket World Cup.

Bangladesh’s World Cup squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (Capt), Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan, Mohammad Mithun, Sabbir Rahman, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Jayed.

More about Bangladesh’s squad here.


Uncapped pacer Jofra Archer and Chris Jordan did not find a place in England’s preliminary 15-man World Cup squad although the duo were named for the One-Day International games against Pakistan and Ireland in the lead-up to the tournament.

The two bowlers can still stake their claim if they manage to impress in the five-match series against Pakistan or solitary ODI versus Ireland, as the preliminary squad can still be changed a week before the World Cup starts on May 30.

England’s World Cup squad: Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Tom Curran, Joe Denly, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

More about England’s squad here.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka dumped established stars including former captain Dinesh Chandimal to hand batsman Lahiru Thirimanne and leg-spinner Jeffrey Vandersay a place. Chandimal, who was one-day captain until last October, wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella, off-spinner Akila Dananjaya, openers Danushka Gunathilaka and Upul Tharanga were all left out of the 15-man squad.

Thirimanne and Vandersay along with all-rounders Milinda Siriwardana and Jeevan Mendis got places despite not playing in the one-day team for more than a year. Left-handed batsman Dimuth Karunaratne, who was appointed captain on Wednesday, last played an ODI in March 2015.

Sri Lanka’s World Cup squad: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Avishka Fernando, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Jeffery Vandersay, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Jeevan Mendis, Milinda Siriwardana

More about Sri Lanka’s squad here

South Africa

Faf du Plessis will lead a Proteas squad that contains a good mix of players with proven World Cup experience and a new generation of exciting talent at the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. There was a question mark over Hashim Amla in the days leading up to the selection meeting but the veteran has made the cut.

Five of the players – Du Plessis himself, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir and Dale Steyn – made their World Cup debuts at the tournament on the sub-continent in 2011 and are thus playing in their third World Cup. Quinton de Kock and David Miller made their debuts in the 2015 tournament in Australasia and will be going to the World Cup for the second time.

South Africa’s World Cup squad: Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Rassie van der Dussen.

More about South Africa’s squad here.


Out-of-form Mohammad Amir has been omitted from Pakistan’s 15-man preliminary squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, but has been included for their ODI series against England. Big-hitting middle order batsman Asif Ali is also part of the 17 to face England but not the 15 to contest the World Cup. Both could yet feature in the global tournament, with Pakistan having until May 23 to finalise their squad.

Teenage fast-bowling duo of Mohammad Hasnain and Shaheen Shah Afridi also made the cut. At the other end of the experience spectrum, veteran Shoaib Malik is part of the squad as well, despite recent question marks over his place.

Pakistan’s World Cup squad: Sarfaraz Ahmed, Abid Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Sohail, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shoaib Malik

More about Pakistan’s squad here.