MSK Prasad’s eventful stint as the selection committee chairman came to an end on Sunday with Board of Control for Cricket in India confirming the development after the Annual General Meeting in Mumbai.

Prasad’s departure means the Ganguly-led BCCI has gone by the old constitution that has a provision for a maximum of four years for the selection committee. The amended constitution had a maximum of five years.

While Prasad and Gagan Khoda were appointed in 2015, Jatin Paranjpe, Sarandeep Singh and Devang Gandhi joined in 2016, but as per the BCCI chief, none of the panel members would continue. “Tenures are finished. You cannot go beyond your tenure. They have done a good job,” Ganguly said. “We will fix a term for selectors and it is not right to appoint selectors every year.”

The Indian team enjoyed success during the five-man panel’s tenure with the positives far outweighing the negatives, but it often found itself at the receiving end of relentless criticism owing to their limited international careers collectively.