The Election Commission said on Monday that Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi had violated the Model Code of Conduct in place for the ongoing Assembly elections by holding a press meet, reported PTI. The EC also banned the publication and telecast of the press meet, saying Gogoi violated the law and faces a jail term or a fine.

The 61 constituencies in Assam that went to the polls on Monday in the second and final phase of the Assembly elections have recorded a 82% voter turnout till 5 pm, reported Hindustan Times. An electorate of more than 1 crore voters are eligible to turn out at 12,699 polling stations in the state. As many as 477 male and 48 female candidates are contesting from lower and central Assam, PTI reported.

Security has been heightened at polling stations, especially in the four Bodoland Territorial Area Districts, where militants of the IK Songbijit-led faction of the National Democratic Front of Bodoland are active, in Goalpara district that recently witnessed a bomb blast, and in minority-dominated regions going to the polls. The Indo-Bangla border in Dhubri district and the Indo-Bhutan border in Baksa district are also under strict vigil. Violence was reported at Barpeta, where Central Reserve Police Force personnel were deployed. ANI reported that one person died and three were injured in clashes.

The All India United Democratic Front, which is the main Opposition party in the outgoing assembly, is contesting in 47 seats, and the Congress is contesting in 57. While the Bharatiya Janata Party is standing for 35, its allies are contesting 29 – the Bodo Peoples' Front is contesting in 10 and Asom Gana Parishad in 19. Among other parties standing for the Assembly elections are the Communist Party of India (five seats) and the Communist Party of India (Maoist) (nine seats), while unrecognised parties are standing for 129 seats and independent candidates for 214 seats.