The Aam Aadmi Party won five wards in bypolls for 13 wards of the Municipal Corporation of Delhi, while the Congress bagged four seats and Bharatiya Janata Party won three. An independent candidate won the Bhati ward. Almost 46% of 6.6 lakh eligible voters voted in the high-stake bypolls, which were seen as a test for the state’s ruling party, AAP. The MCD has been ruled by the BJP for the last decade.

The AAP won Matiala, Vikas Nagar, Nanakpura, Ballimaran and Tehkhand, while Munirka, Khichripur, Quamruddin Nagar and Jhilmil went to the Congress, and BJP won Wazirpur, Nawada and Shalimar Bagh. This was AAP’s first venture into civic polls in Delhi. The results were also awaited by the Congress, who were wiped out in the 2015 state elections. The bypolls were conducted after 13 MCD councillors were elected to the Delhi Assembly in 2013 and 2015.