The Bharatiya Janata Party’s candidate and former cricketer S Sreesanth came in third in the contest for the Thiruvananthapuram constituency in the Kerala Assembly elections. State Health Minister VS Sivakumar of the Congress won the seat with a margin of 11,747 votes.

Sreesanth's candidacy was much talked about after the BJP announced that the former fast bowler will stand from either Thiruvananthapuram or Thrippunithura. Of the 1,26,412 votes cast in Thiruvananthapuram, Sreesanth got 34,764, which makes up 27.5% of the total. Sivakumar won 36.7% of them with 46,474 votes.

Results of the 2016 Kerala Assembly elections were declared on Thursday. The Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Democratic Front staged a comeback in the state, having won at least 75 of the 140 constituencies. The BJP is in the lead in one constituency.