The Aam Aadmi Party on Tuesday announced the names of four of its candidates who will contest the Goa Assembly elections to be held in March 2017, PTI reported. The party had earlier announced its decision to contest all 40 seats in the House. They have, however, not announced a chief ministerial candidate and said one would be projected only if the situation required it, reports said.

The list of AAP candidates announced includes the party's state convener Valmiki Naik who is vying for the Panaji seat, formerly held by Bharatiya Janata Party leader and Union Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar.

Panaji constituency has been a stronghold of the Bharatiya Janata Party for several years now. Another contender, Ajitsingh Rane, who left the Shiv Sena for AAP, will contest in Mayem constituency, which is currently run by BJP leader and Assembly Speaker Anant Shet. Rane is a labour union leader who has led various protests in the state.

Former BJP member, Molu Velip will contest on an AAP ticket in the Shiroda constituency seat, while businessman Cruz Silva will compete to win Velim constituency. National AAP leaders, including Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia and Satyendra Jain visited the state recently to strengthen the party campaign.