The Trinamool Congress on Wednesday won four out of seven civic bodies that had gone to polls on May 14. The Gorkha Janamukti Morcha won three municipalities.

The ruling party won Pujali in south 24 parganas, Domkal in Murshidabad, Raiganj in north Dinajpur and Mirik in Darjeeling. The Mamta Banerjee party also won a ward in Darjeeling for the first time. The GJM got Darjeeling, Kalimpong and Kurseong in the hills.

“Today’s victory is against communal politics,” says TMC leader Subhendu Adhikari told News18. The party credited the victory to Banerjee’s visits to the hills. “The way Mamata Banerjee has repeatedly visited the hills and interacted with the people is remarkable,” said senior Trinamool Congress leader Partha Chatterjee, according to Hindustan Times. “People have naturally supported us.”

Meanwhile, repolling was ordered in six booths – three in Pujali and one each in Domkal and Raigunj – after reports about widespread violence.