Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Joti was on Tuesday appointed the new Chief Election Commissioner of India, succeeding Nasim Zaidi, reported PTI. Joti will take over from Zaidi on July 6, a notification issued by the Law Ministry said.

Joti, 64, is a 1975 batch Indian Administrative Service officer who was the chief secretary of Gujarat until January 2013, when Prime Minister Narendra Modi was the state’s chief minister. He joined the poll panel as an election commissioner on May 8, 2015.

According to the Constitution, a Chief Election Commissioner or an Election Commissioner can have a tenure of six years or hold office till the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. Joti, who will be the 21st CEC, has also served as the Gujarat vigilance commissioner. He was also the secretary in the industry, revenue and water supply departments in the state.

Joti also served as chairperson of the Kandla Port Trust between 1999 and 2004, and the managing director of the Sardar Sarovar Narmada Nigam Ltd.

The government is expected to appoint one more election commissioner. Currently, Om Prakash Rawat is the other election commissioner in the poll panel.