The Election Commission on Sunday announced that it had allowed 14 Rajya Sabha members and 41 Lok Sabha members to cast vote for their presidential election in state legislative Assemblies on Monday instead of Parliament, ANI reported. The poll panel has permitted five MLAs to vote in Parliament and four MLAs to vote in other state legislative Assemblies.

Bharatiya Janata Party President Amit Shah, who is an MLA in Gujarat, and former Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi will cast their vote in Parliament, ANI reported. Lok Sabha MP and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Adityanath and his deputy KP Maurya have been allowed to vote in their state assembly. Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, who is a Rajya Sabha member, will cast his vote at the Goa state Assembly.

The Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance picked Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind as its presidential candidate while former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar was chosen as the Opposition’s presidential candidate.

Meanwhile, the Opposition’s Vice-Presidential candidate Gopalkrishna Gandhi said he will file his nomination papers on July 18, ANI reported.