The Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance’s presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind won the presidential election, reports said on Thursday. He took a massive lead over the Opposition’s nominee Meira Kumar during counting, and won with over 65% of the votes.

Kovind got 7,02,644 electoral college votes, while Kumar received 3,67,314, reports said. As many as 522 MPs voted for Kovind, while 225 voted for Kumar.

A total of 4,896 elected representatives voted in the election on Monday.