The Congress on Sunday won the byepoll on Chitrakoot, Madhya Pradesh, by over 14,000 votes. The byepoll was necessitated after Congress legislator Prem Singh died. The party’s candidate Nilanshu Chaturvedi defeating the Bharatiya Janata Party’s Shankar Dayal Tripathi.

The seat has been a Congress stronghold for at least two decades. Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and other BJP leaders had campaigned extensively in Chitrakoot ahead of the byepoll though, according to The Indian Express.

The byepoll was held on November 9 and around 65% of voters had cast their vote.