A look at the headlines right now:

  1. Centre decides not to extend ceasefire in Jammu and Kashmir: Home Minister Rajnath Singh said the security forces have been asked to take all necessary actions as earlier to prevent militants from launching attacks.
  2. Doubling farm income on the agenda as NITI Aayog’s fourth governing council meeting begins: In his opening remarks, Prime Minister Narendra Modi praised the council’s ‘spirit of cooperative, competitive federalism’.
  3. Seychelles calls off military base project with India, New Delhi seeks explanation: President Danny Faure said they will build a coast guard facility on Assumption – the island where the military base was to be built – themselves.
  4. Seven RJD leaders in Bihar booked for forcing rape survivor to narrate her ordeal: The FIR was registered for ‘blatantly violating the provisions of law and revealing the identity of rape victim against her wishes’..
  5. Afghanistan extends unilateral ceasefire with Taliban after Eid celebrations: President Ashraf Ghani urged militants to follow the government’s lead and participate in peace talks.
  6. Four chief ministers urge Centre to resolve ‘constitutional crisis’in Delhi: Mamata Banerjee, N Chandrababu Naidu, Pinarayi Vijayan and HD Kumaraswamy were not given an appointment with Lieutenant Governor Anil Baijal.
  7. Eight injured as taxi driver rams into crowd in Moscow: The police said they had detained driver and filed a criminal case against him.
  8. Rebel AIADMK legislator to withdraw plea from Madras HC challenging his disqualification: Thangathamizh Selvan said the high court, which delivered a split verdict on Thursday, has let down the public.
  9. Police, doctor differ on cause of death of Kashmiri post Eid celebrations: Doctors said Sheeraz Ahmed had been hit by pump action gun bullets in his neck and chest.
  10. UK relaxes visa rules for students from 11 ‘low-risk’ countries – India is not on the list: The list, which already had Australia, the United States, Canada and New Zealand, now includes China, Bahrain and Serbia.