Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Tuesday announced a complete ban on the use of plastic in several areas of the state, PTI reported. Patnaik said the restrictions will first be imposed from October 2 in Bhubaneswar, Cuttack, Berhampur, Sambalpur, Puri, and Rourkela. The ban will be enforced in the entire state in phases over the next two years.

Patnaik made the announcement during his “Ama Mukshya Mantri, Ama Katha” (Our Chief Minister, our talk) video conferencing public programme. The chief minister said officials from the forest and environment department will monitor the plastic pollution control work and the housing and urban development department and panchayati raj department would regulate the enforcement of the ban in cities and villages.

The Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra governments have also announced a ban on plastic. In Maharashtra, the ban came into effect on June 23 with the state government imposing fines of Rs 5,000 for a first offence, Rs 10,000 for the second, and up to Rs 25,000 and a three-month jail term for repeated violations. The plastic ban in Uttar Pradesh is set to be implemented from July 15.