Seven legislators of the People’s Party of Arunachal have joined the National People’s Party, an alliance partner of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party in the northeastern state. With this, the strength of the ruling coalition in the 60-member Assembly has increased to 57, PTI reported.

The National People’s Party did not have any members earlier. Its state chief Gicho Kabak submitted the names of the defecting MLAs to the Assembly secretariat on Monday. The seven MLAs joined the party unconditionally, said the party’s state vice president Nima Sange.

The People’s Party of Arunachal is now left with just two members and the Congress has one legislator. The Assembly has 48 BJP MLAs. Two independent legislators also support the ruling coalition.

“A decision on the new NPP MLAs joining the [Chief Minister] Pema Khandu government will be taken after a meeting between Khandu, NPP chief Conrad Sangma and North East Democratic Alliance coordinator Himanta Biswa Sarma soon,” Kabak told the Hindustan Times.

The seven legislators are Tanga Byaling, Rajesh Tacho, Tapang Taloh, Nikh Kamin, Tirong Aboh, Dikto Yikar and Mutchu Mithi, Northeast Now reported.