The Bharatiya Janata Party won five of the 10 Assembly constituencies across eight states – Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh, West Bengal, Assam and Delhi – where bye-elections were held last week. Counting was carried out on Thursday.

Re-polling for the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat was also held on Thursday after violence during Sunday’s voting claimed eight lives and left more than 100 people injured.

The five seats that the BJP won are Dhemaji in Assam, Dholpur in Rajasthan, Rajouri Garden in Delhi, Madhya Pradesh’s Bandhavgarh and Himachal Pradesh’s Bhoranj.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi congratulated BJP “karyakartas” on Twitter for the party’s “impressive performance in the bye-polls in different parts of the country”. “I thank the people for the constant support, blessings and unwavering faith in politics of development and good governance,” he said.

The ruling Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi lost their deposit in Rajouri Garden and came in third. The Congress won from Karnataka’s Nanjangud and Gundlupet constituencies as well as Madhya Pradesh’s Ater, where the party candidate’s car was attacked on Sunday by unknown assailants, who the party claimed were BJP workers.

The Trinamool Congress won Kanthi Dakshin in West Bengal. The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha candidate was election from the state’s Littipara Assembly seat.